Web Essentials ’05 is about to begin

At 5:40pm local time I set off for my first conference. To say I’m excited would be an understatement; this is surely going to be an inspirational little adventure.

Tonight and tomorrow, Ben and I will be sharing a room at the Vulcan Hotel. Big thanks to his manager for agreeing to pay for a double room, thereby saving me $$$ 😀
I’ll be staying in one of the Y Hotel’s deluxe rooms on Friday night (Hmm, located in the CBD, high speed broadband, free breakfast and transport to the airport for under AU$120? I’m sold!).

The program is jam-packed with web standards goodness. I’m excited about seeing all the presentations, but I’m especially excited about finally meeting Derek and many of the other web gurus I’ve been fortunate enough to communicate with over the last couple of years. Derek’s accessibility articles on WATS.ca were instrumental in helping me attain an understanding of some of the fundementals of web accessibility, as opposed to merely approaching accessibility as a checklist that can be assesed by machines.

I’ve still got loose ends to tie up at work before packing up shop and heading for the airport, so this is over-and-out from sunny Queensland.

Important! Any attendees wishing to use WIFI at the conference will need to download the client found here.

Technorati tag:

5 comments so far

  1. Ben Buchanan on

    Hurry up and get here already! 😉

  2. anildigital on

    My blog exactly opposite to your blog. It’s all about technology. http://anildigital.blogspot.com

  3. Relapse on

    Are you there yet?

  4. Andrew K. on

    Relapse: Yep 🙂

  5. computer hand on

    computer hand…

    Talleyrand enslaves brandishing impressiveness fragile,…


Leave a Reply

