b0rked.

This is a little follow up to my last post regarding moving to Ubuntu. Everything went pretty well, except for my innability to get decent support for my GeForce 6600 graphics card. The binary nvidia driver chokes immedietely and with the nv driver I can’t get dual display working.

After a week of getting it running smoothly and setup just how I like it, Ubuntu released version 6.10 — Edgy Eft. Being the foolishly trusting-of-OSS person that I am, I attempted to upgrade my system. What followed was 4 hours of package downloads, followed by 6.5 hours of trying to make it work. Edgy Eft killed my desktop, and I’m not impressed; alas, poor desktop, I needed that!

Now none of the graphics drivers result in anything more than a system that chokes after the loading screen. Not even the “last resort, works on everything but runs like a dog” VESA driver can help me. To make matters all the more interesting, there is nothing of note in the Xorg log file – – apparently it thinks everything is fine and dandy. A pox on you X, I curse you and your damned ignorance.

As I sit here, waiting for my home drive to be backed up to my laptop via SSH (at least recovery mode still works!), I am all the more determined to buy one of the shiny new Core2Duo Macbook Pros released last week. Another week, another painful experience with an operating system.

1 comment so far

  1. heretic on

    So you believe that you’ll never have this sort of trouble just because you buy a mac? Sucker 😉


Leave a comment